2018 Paraoptometric Highlights

Education Highlights

There are 19 continuing education courses designed just for optometric staff at Optometry's Meeting 2018. These courses are listed in the daily education grids; the course numbers begin with a P. You do not need to register in advance for any courses except workshops. There are two paraoptometric workshops that begin with a P.

In addition, the doctor of optometry education program will be open to optometric staff again in 2018. Optometric staff may take any course on the OD program. Paras may take the CPR and all other workshops designed for doctors except the two surgery workshops. The integration of the programs offers more choices for the advanced paraoptometric.

Paraoptometric Awards Luncheon

Thursday, June 21, 12-1pm

Para Awards Luncheon

Don't miss this annual celebration of AOA paraoptometric associate members honored for their outstanding and significant contributions to the profession. Two awards will be presented: the Paraoptometric of the Year and the Paraoptometric Community Service Award. The honorees are selected based on service to optometry and paraoptometric associations, personal achievement and participation in community service.

The event is open to all paraoptometric staff. During the lunch, there will be a short presentation from the sponsor and the awards presentations. Advance registration is required for this fun, delicious, inspiring event.  Not for educational credit.

Sponsored by Alcon

Paraoptometric Idea Exchange and 40th Anniversary Celebration

Thursday, June 21, 1:15-3pm40th Anniversary

Join us for this open forum where you and your peers will have time to discuss challenges and opportunities. This is your chance to network and share information on local issues, education opportunities and ideas on how to grow membership. This year marks the 40th anniversary of AOA's recognition of the value of the paraoptometric. Please, join us for a celebratory toast to you and your profession! 

Advance registration is required for this free, informative event. Not for educational credit.

Sponsored by Luxottica

Idea Exchange

Idea Exchange



Promotional Symposium with Breakfast for Optometric Staff - Are You Ready to Help Your Patients Play with Their Eye Color?

Friday, June 22, 8-9am

Registration is required for this free, informational breakfast. Not for educational credit.

Sponsored by Alcon.

Alcon Para Breakfast

Alcon Para Breakfast


Not an AOA associate member yet?

AOA doctors may now enroll (non-OD) optometric staff as associate members. There is no charge to the member OD or to optometric staff.. Associate member benefits include reduced fees for Optometry's Meeting. Click here to see more associate member benefits. Click here to enroll staff.